The state of Maryland requires all vehicle owners to carry liability insurance to register and operate a vehicle on the public roadways. At Thompson Insurance Agency, we're familiar with state laws and what kind of policies allow you to use your vehicle legally and without the worry of getting a ticket. Here's a look at Maryland auto insurance laws.
The state of Maryland does not allow you to register your car with the state unless you have liability insurance. You are required to keep your insurance current at all times while you own and operate the vehicle. Minimum insurance requirements include:
The minimums are set at reasonable limits to cover medical costs for those who are injured by you in a car accident. However, even though the limits are reflective of reality, the insurance policy may be set up only to cover the costs of the car and occupants you collide with. This highlights the importance of working with us at Thompson Insurance Agency to get a policy with adequate coverage.
If you are caught driving without insurance, you will receive a $150 fine for the first 30 days and $7 each day afterward that you are not insured. You may be liable for a maximum $2,500 penalty if you don't get coverage. Your registration will be suspended, and your vehicle may be impounded if you are caught driving without insurance. The financial penalties for driving uninsured are harsh.
At Thompson Insurance Agency, we understand the importance of getting an insurance policy that fits your budget and your needs. Contact us today to learn more about the types of policies we offer and get free quotes to help you pick the right policy for you.
When it comes to auto coverage more is better than less. We can help you get the following coverages: